Graphic Facilitation

5443118269_0b1e456238_oSeveral years ago my department hired a graphic facilitator for a series of team meetings. I was struck by how her techniques helped to keep everyone on track with brainstorming and teamwork. The constant images were interesting and engaging. Everyone seemed eager to participate and to see what would come up next. Last year I started experimenting with this technique using coloured pens on the large white boards in my classroom. The students loved it! I’m no artist but the images really can be quite simple. Since it is all new to me I roughly sketch in advance what images I will use to go along with the information I am sharing or to organize students’ collaborative work. Once you have seen the amazing graphic facilitation adapted from this talk by Sir Ken Robinson on Changing Education Paradigms you’ll have an idea of how effective the strategy can be.

Check out this link to Learning Graphic Facilitation, it’s a really fun way to teach and to engage your students.  

Leave a Reply

